OPEN DATA
Freelance & Nomad Visa Threshold Index (2026)
Almost every freelance and digital-nomad visa pegs its income test to a national benchmark — a minimum wage, a social-support index, an average salary — and almost every benchmark is revised each January. That is why published “you need €3,200 a month” figures are wrong within a year of being written.
This index records the formula instead: Portugal’s D8 is 4 × IAS, Spain’s DNV is 200% × SMI, Croatia’s DNV is ≈ 2.5 × the average net salary. The formula survives the revision; the headline number does not. Every row also names the benchmark it is pegged to, the government body that issues the route — linked to that body’s own page for it — and, separately, whether we were able to confirm the row against that body. Those are two different facts, so they are two different columns: As of dates the figure, Verified reports the check.
Download the dataset
Version 2026.08.3 (August 2026) — 32 routes across 28 countries and territories. Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 with attribution.
Methodology
The Visa Threshold Index records how each freelance, self-employment and digital-nomad residence route SETS its financial test — the formula and the national benchmark it is pegged to — rather than a headline figure that expires the moment the benchmark is revised. Sourcing: every record is extracted from one published Colo visa guide (the `slug` field names it); the dedicated country guide is the source where one exists, otherwise the regional guide. Nothing is inferred or computed — a field is null when neither its source article nor the named issuing authority states the value. `computedMonthlyEUR` is populated ONLY when the source article states a single unambiguous EUR monthly figure; it is null for ranges, for savings/capital tests, for annual thresholds, and for routes benchmarked in a non-EUR currency (no FX conversion is performed). `prHorizonYears` records the standard (non-accelerated) permanent-residence horizon stated by the source, and is null where the route explicitly does not lead to permanent residence. `asOf` is the currency date of the FIGURE and nothing else: the month the recorded test is current to, as declared by the source article or as established against the issuing authority's own publication. It carries no claim about whether we re-checked the record — that is what `verification` and `verifiedOn` say. Verification: from v2026.08.3 every record carries two dedicated fields, because the outcome of a verification attempt is a different fact from the currency date of a figure and one field cannot honestly carry both. `verification` is a closed enumeration of four values. `confirmed-open` — we read the named issuing authority's own publication for this route, it is open, and it states the recorded test. `unconfirmed-source-unreachable` — we could not read the authority's own statement of the test (the page blocks automated clients, serves a challenge, or publishes only in a form we could not machine-read), so the recorded figure stands on its earlier sourcing and was NOT re-confirmed. `unconfirmed-not-published` — we did read the authority's material and it does not state the fact in question. `unconfirmed-field-level` — the headline threshold WAS confirmed against the authority, but a named subordinate field (a family uplift, for instance) was not, and that field is therefore null. `verifiedOn` is `YYYY-MM` and is populated ONLY on a `confirmed-open` record, where it gives the month of the confirming check; it is null on every unconfirmed record. That is enforced, not merely intended: `scripts/generate-visa-index-data.mjs` fails the build when a non-`confirmed-open` record carries a `verifiedOn` at all, and names the case of a non-`confirmed-open` record claiming the current revision month explicitly, because that is the specific false claim this schema exists to prevent. Editions before v2026.08.3 tried to express the same distinction by leaving `asOf` un-advanced on unverified records; that was a prose convention no build could check, and four records (Indonesia, Greece, Cyprus, Grenada) contradicted it by carrying an `asOf` of 2026-08 that read as a claim of August verification. v2026.08.3 replaces the convention with these two fields and restates those four records honestly. Provenance: `sourceAuthority` names the government body that actually issues the route (an immigration directorate, migration agency or ministry), in its official local-language name with an English gloss where that helps, and `sourceUrl` links that authority's own page for the route (https only; null where no official page could be established). From v2026.08 those two fields are established against the issuing authority's own publication rather than the Colo guide, and where that check contradicted the guide, BOTH the record and the guide were corrected. Liveness: on 11 August 2026 every record in the index was swept for liveness — each route was checked against its named issuing authority's own publication to establish whether it is still accepting applications, rather than assuming continuity from the previous edition. Of the thirty-two records now in the index, twenty-five carry `verification: confirmed-open` with `verifiedOn: 2026-08` from that sweep and seven carry an `unconfirmed-*` value with a null `verifiedOn`; one further route was found CLOSED and was removed. Routes whose legal basis has been repealed, or whose programme has closed, are REMOVED rather than left in place with a caveat: v2026.08 removed Iceland's Long-Term Remote Worker route (the long-term visa provision of the Foreign Nationals Act was repealed by the Visa Act No. 37/2026 — Directorate of Immigration notice, 13 May 2026), Antigua and Barbuda's Nomad Digital Residence (the Department of Immigration's own programme site states the programme has ended) and — in the 11 August 2026 liveness sweep — the Cayman Islands' Global Citizen Concierge Programme (the Immigration (Transition) (Global Citizen Exemption) Regulations (2023 Revision) provide at reg. 7 that the Regulations expired on 30 November 2024 and that applications had to be made no later than 31 October 2022; the Cayman Islands Government no longer lists the programme). The sweep also corrected two thresholds that disagreed with the issuing authority — Portugal's D8, which is pegged to four times the guaranteed minimum monthly wage under Decreto Regulamentar n.º 4/2022 art. 31.º-A(1)(c) and NOT to the IAS, and Italy's digital-nomad minimum, which the consular network now publishes as three times an €8,500 healthcare-exemption floor. Scope: routes a freelancer or remote worker can obtain on the basis of their own work or income. Passive-income residence routes are INCLUDED when the income test is itself the admission criterion (Portugal's D7, Spain's Residencia No Lucrativa); their route name says "passive-income route" and the threshold formula states what kind of income qualifies, so a reader is never misled into thinking freelance earnings satisfy a test that only accepts pensions, dividends, rent or royalties. Investment-, deposit- and employer-sponsored programmes (golden/premium residencies, Second Home deposits, entrepreneur-endorsement and business-migration schemes) are deliberately excluded — they are not freelance pathways, and their admission criterion is a capital transfer rather than an income test. Not legal or tax advice: verify every figure with the named authority before applying. Version numbering is YYYY.MM.N: N increments on any within-month change to the record set. 2026.08.1 added verified issuing authorities and sourceUrl to every record; 2026.08.2 is the post-liveness-sweep revision that removed the Cayman Islands GCCP and corrected the Portugal D8, Italy and UAE Green Visa entries; 2026.08.3 introduced `verification` and `verifiedOn`, restated the four records that had carried an unearned August 2026 verification claim, set Cyprus's `familyUplift` to null because the Migration Department's own page does not state an uplift, and replaced Mexico's minimum-wage threshold formula — which no reachable source supports — with the per-consulate economic-solvency test the route actually applies.
Compiled from the 30 published visa guides at trycolo.co/visas, checked against the issuing authorities in the liveness sweep of 11 August 2026 — each record states the outcome of its own check in `verification`. Each row links back to the guide it was extracted from.
The index
| Country | Route | Threshold formula | Benchmark | Monthly EUR | Family uplift | Processing | PR (yrs) | As of | Verified | Authority | Source guide |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Portugal PT | D7 Passive Income (passive-income route) | 1 × minimum wage for the main applicant, met from PASSIVE income only (pension, dividends, rental, royalties) — active remote-work income is tested under the D8 instead | Salário mínimo nacional (RMMG), revised each January | — | +50% of the minimum wage for a spouse, +30% per dependent child | 60-120 days (consular) | 5 | 2026-01 | Unconfirmed — source unreachable | AIMA (Agência para a Integração, Migrações e Asilo) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Portugal PT | D8 Digital Nomad | 4 × the retribuição mínima mensal garantida (guaranteed minimum monthly wage), evidenced as the AVERAGE monthly income of the last three months | Retribuição mínima mensal garantida (the Portuguese national minimum wage), revised each January — set by Decreto Regulamentar n.º 4/2022, de 30 de setembro, art. 31.º-A(1)(c); the resulting residence permit runs two years and is renewable for successive three-year periods | — | +50% of the threshold for a spouse, +30% per child (stated as a rule of thumb) | 60-90 days | 5 | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | AIMA (Agência para a Integração, Migrações e Asilo) — residence permit under art. 88.º n.º 1 REPSAE; the residence visa itself is issued by the Portuguese consular network (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Spain ES | DNV (Digital Nomad Visa) | 200% × SMI for the main applicant | SMI (salario mínimo interprofesional), revised each January | — | +75% of the SMI for the first dependant, +25% of the SMI for each additional dependant | 30-60 days (in-country UGE-CE); 60-90 days (consular) | 5 | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | UGE-CE (Unidad de Grandes Empresas y Colectivos Estratégicos) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Spain ES | Autónomo (self-employment residence) | No fixed income threshold — business plan, viability and capital assessed | Capital to establish the activity, often €15,000+ as a working benchmark (business-dependent); RETA self-employment registration | — | Continuing financial means for the applicant and any dependants (no published multiplier) | — | 5 | 2026-01 | Unconfirmed — source unreachable | Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores, Unión Europea y Cooperación (Spanish consular network) — RETA registration with the Tesorería General de la Seguridad Social (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Spain ES | Residencia No Lucrativa (passive-income route) | 400% × IPREM for the main applicant, met from PASSIVE income only (pension, dividends, rental, royalties, investment returns) — the permit does not authorise work, so freelance or employment income does not count | IPREM (Indicador Público de Renta de Efectos Múltiples), revised annually | — | +100% of the IPREM for each dependent family member | — | 5 | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores, Unión Europea y Cooperación (consular network) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Germany DE | Freiberufler (§21 AufenthG ¶5) | No fixed income threshold — business plan, client contracts and viability assessed | Ausländerbehörde viability assessment; practical Berlin benchmark of €1,500-€2,500/month projected income (2025-2026) | — | Spouse family-reunification permit allows unrestricted work; no published income uplift | 60-180 days (Berlin LEA) | 5 | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Berlin Landesamt für Einwanderung (LEA) / local Ausländerbehörde (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Netherlands NL | DAFT (Dutch-American Friendship Treaty, US nationals only) | €4,500 working business capital held in a Dutch business bank account (capital test, not an income test) | IND-set capital figure, revisable — verify for the application year | — | Spouse receives a dependent permit allowing unrestricted work; no published capital uplift | 2-4 weeks (IND decision, filed in-country) | 5 | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | IND (Immigratie- en Naturalisatiedienst) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Czech Republic CZ | Živno (long-stay business visa + trade licence) | Multiple of the subsistence minimum for the duration of the planned stay | Životní minimum (Czech subsistence minimum), revised annually; €5,000-€7,000 working benchmark for a 12-month stay | — | Additional funds required for accompanying family members (no published multiplier) | 60-120 days (consular) | 5 | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Ministry of the Interior of the Czech Republic (MV ČR) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Estonia EE | Digital Nomad Visa (Type D) | ≈ €4,500/month gross from foreign sources, evidenced across the six months before application | PPA-published monthly income benchmark, revised periodically | €4,500 | — | 15-30 days | — | 2026-01 | Unconfirmed — source unreachable | Estonian Police and Border Guard Board (PPA) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Thailand TH | DTV (Destination Thailand Visa) | ≈ THB 500,000 in liquid funds (one-time savings test — no monthly income floor) | Royal Thai Embassy financial-proof guidance (~USD 14,000 equivalent), verified at application only | — | Dependants (spouse, minor children) apply on separate dependent visa applications | 15-30 days | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Thailand (Royal Thai Embassy and Consulate network); in-country extensions by the Immigration Bureau, Royal Thai Police (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| United Arab Emirates AE | Free Zone freelance permit (GoFreelance / TECOM) | No income threshold on the permit — sector match plus the annual Free Zone package fee (AED 7,500-AED 25,000) | Free Zone package pricing (TECOM, twofour54, Shams, RAKEZ), revised per zone | — | Family sponsorship subject to sponsor income of roughly AED 5,000-AED 10,000/month | 5-15 working days (permit) + 1-2 weeks (visa stamping) | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | TECOM Group PJSC — GoFreelance, Dubai free-zone licensing authority (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| United Arab Emirates AE | Green Visa (freelancer / self-employed, 5-year) | AED 360,000 in annual self-employment income in EACH of the previous two years, or proof of financial solvency for the whole residency — the bachelor's degree or specialised diploma is a SEPARATE mandatory condition, not an alternative that lowers the income figure | Federal income-evidence requirement, alongside a freelance/self-employment permit issued by the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation (MOHRE) — verify the current-year figure | — | Family sponsorship available | — | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security (ICP) and the emirate-level Residency and Foreigners Affairs directorates (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Italy IT | Digital Nomad Visa | ≥ 3 × the minimum income that exempts a resident from healthcare cost-sharing — the Italian consular network currently publishes that minimum as €8,500, so ≥ €25,500 per year | Italian healthcare cost-sharing exemption minimum (€8,500 as published by the consular network), set by interministerial decree and revisable — the euro figure moves with it, and individual consulates have published different equivalents, so confirm with the consulate handling your application; restricted to highly skilled workers under art. 27-quater of Legislative Decree 286/1998, with ≥ 6 months of prior experience in the field | — | — | — | 5 | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Ministero degli Affari Esteri e della Cooperazione Internazionale (MAECI) — the Italian diplomatic-consular network issues the visa; the permesso di soggiorno is issued by the Questura (Polizia di Stato) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Greece GR | Digital Nomad Visa (Law 4825/2021) | ≥ €3,500 per month net (after tax) for the main applicant | Statutory monthly net income floor for the digital-nomad route; 1-year national (Type D) visa, then a 2-year renewable digital-nomad residence permit | €3,500 | +20% for a spouse or partner (€4,200 in total) and +15% (€525) per child | — | 5 | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Υπουργείο Εξωτερικών (Hellenic Ministry of Foreign Affairs) — the Greek consular authorities issue the visa; the digital-nomad residence permit is issued by the Υπουργείο Μετανάστευσης και Ασύλου (Ministry of Migration and Asylum) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Croatia HR | Digital Nomad Visa | ≥ 2.5 × the average monthly net salary paid in Croatia the previous year — €3,622.50 per month currently | Croatian average monthly net salary published by the Croatian Bureau of Statistics, per the Regulation on means of subsistence (Official Gazette 14/21 and 3/26); savings alternative €43,470 for a 12-month stay or €65,205 for 18 months; temporary stay granted for up to 18 months | €3,623 | +10% of the average monthly net salary for each additional family member, life partner or informal life partner | — | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Ministarstvo unutarnjih poslova Republike Hrvatske (MUP) — Croatian Ministry of the Interior; decided by the competent police administration or station (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Latvia LV | Digital Nomad Visa | ≥ 2.5 × the previous year’s average monthly gross salary in Latvia — €4,213 per month currently; the employer or self-employment must be registered in an OECD member state | Latvian average monthly gross salary published by the Central Statistical Bureau; long-stay (D) visa, with ≥ 6 months of prior employment with the same employer and no right to work in Latvia | €4,213 | — | — | 5 | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Pilsonības un migrācijas lietu pārvalde (PMLP) — Latvian Office of Citizenship and Migration Affairs (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Hungary HU | White Card | €3,000 net/month from non-Hungarian sources, evidenced for at least the 6 months before entry and maintained throughout the stay | Flat figure published in the OIF White Card factsheet (raised from €2,000 when the new immigration act took effect on 1 January 2024); accommodation proof is a separate condition | €3,000 | None — the OIF factsheet excludes White Card holders from family reunification | — | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Országos Idegenrendészeti Főigazgatóság (OIF) — Hungarian National Directorate-General for Aliens Policing (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Malta MT | Nomad Residence Permit | €42,000 gross per year (≈ €3,500/month) from work performed remotely for non-Maltese employers or clients | Fixed gross annual income floor set by Residency Malta Agency (raised from €32,400 on 1 April 2024) | €3,500 | — | — | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Residency Malta Agency (nomad.residencymalta.gov.mt) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Cyprus CY | Digital Nomad Visa | ≥ €3,500 per month net, after the deduction of contributions and taxes, from non-Cypriot sources | Published monthly net income floor for the Cyprus Digital Nomad Visa scheme; ceiling of 500 residence permits; 1 year, renewable for a further 2 years | €3,500 | — | — | 5 | 2026-08 | Unconfirmed — one field | Migration Department (Τμήμα Μετανάστευσης), Deputy Ministry of Migration and International Protection of the Republic of Cyprus (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Romania RO | Digital Nomad Visa | ≥ 3 × the average gross monthly salary in Romania, for each of the 6 months before the visa application and for the whole period covered by the visa | Romanian average gross monthly salary; long-stay visa for other purposes under OUG 194/2002, granted for 90 days and only after an IGI opinion; a self-managed foreign company must have been registered for at least 3 years | — | — | — | 5 | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Inspectoratul General pentru Imigrări (IGI) — Romanian General Inspectorate for Immigration, Ministry of Internal Affairs (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Norway NO | Self-employed person with a company in Norway (skilled worker) | The business must be likely to yield a profit (business income) of at least NOK 341,373 per year before tax; the applicant must hold skilled-worker qualifications and may work only in that business | Annual pre-tax business-profit floor in NOK published by UDI, revised periodically; permit granted one year at a time | — | — | — | 3 | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Utlendingsdirektoratet (UDI) — Norwegian Directorate of Immigration (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Malaysia MY | Digital Nomad Pass (formerly DE Rantau Nomad Pass) | > USD 24,000 per year for tech professionals; > USD 60,000 per year for non-tech professionals | Programme annual income floor in USD; issued as a Professional Visit Pass (Pas Lawatan Ikhtisas) for 3–12 months, renewable once for a further 12 months (24 months maximum) | — | — | — | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation (MDEC), an agency of the Ministry of Digital, which runs the programme; the pass itself is a Professional Visit Pass (Pas Lawatan Ikhtisas) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Indonesia ID | E33G Remote Worker visa | ≥ USD 60,000 per year in salary or income, evidenced by bank statements, under an employment agreement with a company established outside Indonesia | Annual income floor in USD published for visa index E33G; the visa must be used within 90 days of issue | — | — | — | — | 2026-08 | Unconfirmed — source unreachable | Direktorat Jenderal Imigrasi (Directorate General of Immigration), Kementerian Imigrasi dan Pemasyarakatan (Ministry of Immigration and Corrections) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| South Korea KR | F-1-D Digital Nomad Visa | 1–2 × Korean GNI per capita, banded by applicant age and region of stay — 2 × as the standard, reduced toward 1 × for younger applicants and for stays outside the capital region or in a population-decline area | Korean GNI per capita (about KRW 52.41 million on the 2025 basis, so about KRW 104.82 million at the 2 × standard), revised annually; the visa left pilot status on 30 June 2026 and now allows up to 3 years of stay | — | — | — | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | 출입국·외국인정책본부 (Korea Immigration Service), 법무부 (Ministry of Justice of the Republic of Korea) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Japan JP | Digital Nomad Visa | ≥ JPY 10,000,000 in personal annual income at the time of application | Annual income floor in JPY for the "Designated Activities" status under Public Notice No. 53; restricted to nationals of listed countries and territories; 6 months, not renewable, with re-entry possible after 6 months outside Japan; private medical insurance with at least JPY 10,000,000 of injury and illness cover required | — | — | — | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | 出入国在留管理庁 (Immigration Services Agency of Japan), 法務省 (Ministry of Justice) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Barbados BB | Welcome Stamp | ≥ USD 50,000 (BDS$100,000) in annual income generated outside Barbados over the 12 months of the intended stay | Statutory annual income floor under section 3 of the Remote Employment Act, 2020; the Stamp is granted for a period of 12 months only, and a holder is deemed non-resident for Barbados income-tax purposes | — | No income uplift published; family fee USD 3,000 against USD 2,000 individual | — | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Chief Immigration Officer of Barbados, with the approval of the Minister responsible for Immigration (Remote Employment Act, 2020, ss. 2–3) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Grenada GD | Remote Employment Visa | ≥ EC$100,000 in actual annual income generated outside Grenada, with proof that the income will continue for the permit period | Statutory annual income floor in East Caribbean dollars under section 4(1)(c) of the Remote Employment Act, No. 3 of 2021; remote-work permit, renewable | — | — | — | — | 2026-08 | Unconfirmed — not published | Chief Immigration Officer of Grenada, with the approval of the Minister (Remote Employment Act, No. 3 of 2021, s. 3(1)) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Mauritius MU | Premium Visa | ≥ USD 1,500 per month for each adult applicant | Programme monthly income floor in USD, evidenced by three months of bank statements plus an employment contract or revenue attestation; issued free of charge for a period exceeding 6 months up to 1 year, renewable | — | ≥ USD 500 per month for each dependent child; the USD 1,500 monthly floor applies to each adult applicant separately | — | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Passport and Immigration Office (PIO), Prime Minister’s Office of Mauritius — programme administered by the Economic Development Board (EDB) Mauritius (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Brazil BR | Digital Nomad Visa | ≥ USD 1,500 in monthly income, or an available bank balance of at least USD 18,000 | Programme income-or-savings floor in USD under Resolução Normativa CNIg nº 45/2021 (VITEM XIV); 1-year visa, renewable, with registration at the Polícia Federal within 90 days of first entry | — | — | — | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Ministério das Relações Exteriores (Itamaraty) — issues the VITEM XIV through the Brazilian consular network under Resolução Normativa nº 45/2021 of the Conselho Nacional de Imigração (CNIg) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Colombia CO | V-Type Digital Nomad Visa | ≥ 3 × the Colombian monthly legal minimum wage (SMLMV), evidenced by bank statements for the last 3 months — COP 5,252,715 per month in 2026 | Salario Mínimo Legal Mensual Vigente (COP 1,750,905 for 2026 under Decreto 1470 de 2025), revised each January; visa granted for up to 2 years; the applicant must hold a passport from a country exempt from short-stay visas | — | — | — | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores de Colombia (Cancillería) — Visa V Nómadas Digitales, Resolución 5477 de 2022, art. 46 (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Mexico MX | Temporary Resident | An economic-solvency test applied by the Mexican consulate that handles the application; each consulate publishes its own income and savings figures, so there is no single national number. No figure is recorded here because INM's published criteria could not be read against the authority's own publication. | Set consulate by consulate under the economic-solvency requirement. INM's own published criteria could not be reached (gob.mx serves a challenge to automated clients and the consular criteria are published as PDFs we could not machine-read), so no benchmark, multiple or figure is asserted — read the criteria published by the consulate that will handle your application. | — | — | — | 4 | 2026-01 | Unconfirmed — source unreachable | Instituto Nacional de Migración (INM) (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
| Panama PA | Short-Stay Remote Worker (Visa de Corto Plazo para Teletrabajador) | ≥ B/. 36,000 per year (B/. 3,000 per month stated by the employer) of foreign-source income; the balboa is pegged 1:1 to the US dollar | Annual foreign-source income floor in balboas under Decreto Ejecutivo No. 198 of 7 May 2021; Non-Resident category, 9-month visa extendable once for a further 9 months | — | — | — | — | 2026-08 | Confirmed open2026-08 | Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá, Ministerio de Seguridad Pública (opens the issuing authority’s site in a new tab) | Guide |
- Unconfirmed — source unreachable
- We could not read the issuing authority’s own statement of this test: the page blocks automated clients, serves a challenge, or publishes only in a form we could not machine-read. The figure stands on its earlier sourcing and was NOT re-confirmed.
- Confirmed open
- The issuing authority’s own publication for this route was read in the month shown, the route is open, and it states the recorded test.
- Unconfirmed — one field
- The headline threshold WAS confirmed against the issuing authority, but a subordinate field on this row could not be — that field is null rather than guessed.
- Unconfirmed — not published
- We read the issuing authority’s material and it does not state the fact in question. The record is kept because its legal basis is sound, not because we confirmed the process.
Licence and attribution
Released under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International licence. You may copy, redistribute, adapt and build on this dataset — including commercially — as long as you credit the source.
Cite as: Colo — trycolo.co/data/visa-threshold-index
Visa rules and the benchmarks behind them change frequently. This dataset records what our published guides state, not legal or tax advice — verify every figure with the named authority before you apply or rely on it.